Shazzbox

Monday, December 10, 2007

Skate Deck

Wow this sure took way more time than I thought it would. I did my rough sketch pretty quickly considering I had the exact idea in my head for this deck. What I realized while cutting the skateboard size into the picture was that the position of my subject was awkward. I either chopped off most of her head or all of her chest, neither appealed to me so I changed it to a complete profile shot. From the beginning I wanted this to be more vector looking than sketchy, but with my niche being Photoshop rather than Illustrator, it ended up looking exactly like a sketch. I suck at Illustrator haha. I liked the final outcome, but still think I can obviously enhance it. The order of the pics below is my rough copy and initial idea, and then the 2 finals, one with the P70 logo Joe told us to put and one without that I will be printing.




Saturday, December 8, 2007

Le duh...

So I can officially say I'm a complete moron and continuously forget to post ALL the work I have in one sitting. Here's the rough copy of my design. I want it to be more like a vector drawing so I think it will look very different from this.


Wednesday, December 5, 2007

Skate decks

Okay here are the pictures of graffiti I used for our sketches. Unfortunately, I didn't have my actual sketches scanned, but as soon as I get them back I'll post them up. The first one is the angry Robin Hood (or Green Arrow depending on who you ask) guy with the maniacal looking cat.


This one I kind of cheated and did the actual written graffiti as a whole, and as a separate piece I did the skull on the left beside the flower. By the way, graffiti is HARD, this one took forever to imitate, seriously so many small pieces within the writing.



My third one is of the small guy on the left with the cards. I thought he was really cool looking so I chose him rather than the writing...didn't want to do the writing again.


I thought this was just really vibrant and it caught my eye, so I chose to copy it. I noticed that I really suck at reading graffiti...REALLY...suck.



Below are my 5 skate decks:

This is ridiculously cute for a skateboard. So..asian. I just figured it'd be fun to do something silly like this.


Okay, Element's boards were next. I think this demon thing is awesome, he's soooo cute! It's a simple board too, but I like it, especially the red.


Ignore the other 4 boards because I only chose the middle one by Element again. I usually end up going for the simple, but interesting boards..I think the others all suck. I like Element's symbol too, I'm all into the earth, wind, fire, water stuff (thank you Avatar..).


And Darkstar. I think this is what I drew. I know it wasn't any of their overly intricate boards and that it was black and white, but I'm really not certain it's the exact sketch. It's close enough though, I know it was practically the same. I like the knight, but evil looking guy.


Last, but not least, the board on the very left. Ignore the fact that it's a snowboard design please. I wanted to draw the loopy lines haha.